Chapter 1: Jae Joong

January 31, 2009

It was a pretty typical day. The cool autumn air was crisp and the leaves crunchy beneath my new suede boots, the hottest accesory for fall. But this day felt different from others, the wind gently sweeped my hair into my face and stuck to the gloss just applied to my face. As I raised a hannd to brush it away I noticed somebody walking towards me. Well maybe not towards me, but in my direction. He was beautiful, and oddly familiar. With black rimmed glasses and oaky hair, I’d never thought that someone asian could pull off such a look. He reminded me of someone, someone I knew very well. As he walked closer and closer I thought for the briefest moment that he might actually stop and talk to me, but of course guys never do. But one strange thing did happen. When my phone rang with my signature ringtone “Wrong Number” he seemed to tense up a bit, as if getting ready to knock someone out.

“Hello, oh hey Brie what’s up?”

“O.M.G!! Did u know that DBSK’s coming to town?”

“Haha that’s funny I didn’t even think you liked them. I thought they’d always been my obsession.”

“I know, but since you love them so much, I thought you’d like to know.”

“Aww isn’t that sweet of you.”

“Of course, sweet as sugar right?”

“More like spicier than jalepenos if you ask me.”

“So what, do you want to go to the DBSK concert or what?”

“OF COURSE I WANT TO GO!!” I shrieked.

“Well then, I guess it’s a good thing I got you FRONT ROW SEATS!!”

“AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!! I LOVE YOU BRIE!!”

“No problem, but just remember that Bi Rain’s coming into town near my birthday, hint hint nudge nudge.”

“Got it.”

Hanging up the phone breathless due to the enormous shriek I had just released I heard the padding of footsteps behind me. I whipped around, and what do you know? There was Mr. Mysterious in person right behind me.

“Are you okay? I thought I heard screaming.”

“Oh, yeah . . .” I said in an embarassed tone, “that was me, my friend just kind of surprised me with tickets to my favorite band.”

“And who might your favorite band be?” The alluring stranger said in a velvety voice.

“DBSK!!” I meant to say in just an alluring voice as his, but the excitement leaked through.

“haha really? You’re the first girl I’ve met in this town who’s gone beserk at the mere mentioning of their name.”

“I guess you can say I just really love them.”

I couldn’t believe that this gorgeous human being was actually talking to me. Up close he was even more beautiful than from a distance. He had smooth skin, a tone that matched my own. His sunglasses were blocking his eyes but I assumed they’d be beautiful just like the rest of him. With a slight turn to his head I realized all of a sudden that his sunglasses were the exact same as mine except in the male version. The newest Louis Vuitton Fall Destiny shades.

“Hey, I have those exact same shades.”

I’ve noticed.” He said with a sly smile.

But that smile was different, it was something I recognized. Something I felt as though I had known for such a long time but had never imagined being able to see it outside of a picture.

And then it caught me. This man was Hero Jae Joong, my favorite member of DBSK. I had always wished and hoped that someday we would meet and he would magically fall in love with me and we’d be happily married. But things like that only happen in fairytales, and fairytales seldom come true in real life. But I couldn’t let him know I knew who he was. I had to keep him interested, I had to preserve this moment. But I also needed answers. What if it wasn’t him? What if it really was?

“This is going to come out weird, but I think I’ve met you before.”

“Really?” He appeared to be amused. “Let me guess, you’ve met me in your dreams?”

“No more like I’ve seen you on countless posters, and I’ve watched your videos about a million times.”

“I have no idea what you’re talking about.” He seemed to be unfazed by my accusation.

“Oh come on already! You’re obviously Hero Jae Joong from DBSK!! Stop giving me such a hard time!!” By this point I was already yelling, and causing a pretty big scene.

“Ok, ok, ok please don’t yell. I AM Hero Jae Joong from DBSK, I’m in town for that concert you just got tickets to.”

I felt excitement swell up in my chest and I felt as though I was going to burst at any point. Ihad dreamed about this day that I thought was never going to happen for ages, and I couldn’t believe that at last it was finally coming true. I was actually meeting the man of my dreams. But even instances don’t last a lifetime.

Recovering from my revelation, I turned around to continue my conversation with my not so Mr. Mysterious. But he was gone. I felt a slight prick at my neck and as I reached into my hood, I found an envelope with something inside. As a carefully opened the pristine edges of the crisp white envelope. I thought of the possibility that Hero had actually licked it close. Ahhhhh getting excited for possibly no reason, there were self-adhesive envelopes floating around these days. When I finally broke through the sticky glue that bound the two lips together, a note slipped into my hand.

Dear RX (Got it from your phone charm),

You’ve discovered my secret! I really am Hero Jae Joong. I was just out trying to get some decent food when I mysteriously bumped into you. I had planned on not attracting any attention to myself, but that didn’t really seem to work out. I’m always excited to meet new fans, and I think you might have given me one of the warmest responses I’ve ever had. For all your dedication to DBSK, I’ve included a little gift for you inside. Happy Early Birthday!

p.s. Nice Ringtone

Hero

As I reached into the envelope to find out for myself what Hero himself had left for me. I was surprised to find of all things a backstage pass slip out, with a little message scribbled in black sharpie. Can’t wait to see you there.

No, it wasn’t just like any typical day.

4 Responses to “Chapter 1: Jae Joong”

  1. Robert said

    Wow this is wicked long. This is definately a fairytale. Not just the ending, but EVERYTHING! You’ve got some crazy imagination when it comes to asian obsessities.

  2. Robert said

    watch it happen to me. And I’ll get 2 backstage passes. Who would i give the extra one to?

Leave a Reply

